A scene about love

A man sits by a hospital bed.
He is holding the hand of his husband.

Bill: 
So that’s it. (Beat) That’s it.

A slight pause.

Tony:
Yeah.

Bill:
Doctor Brae is such a nice man. I hope he’s o.k.. You’ll check if he’s ok when you leave?

Tony:
Of course love.

Bill:
Good. (Beat) Good.

Silence

Bill:
Did you.  Did…

Pause.

Bill:
Did you see House last night?  Did you record it for me?

Tony nods

Bill:
Good. (Beat) I don’t…

Tony:
Sweetheart-

Bill:
I don’t-

Tony:
Bill. Please-

Bill:
No tears.  None. I…I forbid it.

Pause

Tony:
You forbid it?

Bill:
Yes. I forbid it. I forbid tears and I forbid teary thoughts.  (Beat) I forbid sadness.  Ok? No sadness?

Tony:
Okay.

Silence

Bill:
I’ve never loved anyone like you. Anyone.

Tony:
Fuck.

Bill:
Hey now.  None of that.

Tony:
I can’t-

Bill:
Hey. Hey, listen to me.

A slight pause.

Bill:
You listening?

Tony nods.

Bill:
Everything will be ok, alright?  I promise.

Tony:
But…but Bill…I can’t (his voice breaks a little) I can’t-

Bill pulls him into an embrace.
Tony clutches on to Bill.

Bill:
Shush now. It’s all going to be o.k.. (beat) I promise.

Leave a Reply

